Anne Rice Books: The Best Reading Order Guide for Fans



Are you a fan of Anne Rice's books but find yourself unsure of what order to read them in? Look no further, as this article will provide guidance on the best way to approach reading her captivating novels.

Anne Rice is a well-known author famous for her gothic and supernatural writing style. Her numerous works include “The Vampire Chronicles,” “The Mayfair Witches,” and “The Wolf Gift Chronicles.” With so many books from multiple series, it can be challenging for readers who are new to Anne Rice's work or want to explore more of her fantastic literary world.

Fortunately, there is an efficient way to navigate the vast collection of Anne Rice's novels. In this article, we'll guide you through all the different book series and explain how they're connected without spoiling any details about each story or their endings. So keep reading if you want to know what order should you read Anne Rice Books!

What Order to Read Anne Rice Books

If you are a fan of Anne Rice's novels, you might be wondering what order to read her books. With such an extensive collection, it can be challenging to know where to start and which books follow the correct sequence. Fear not! This article will guide you through the best order in which to read Anne Rice's works.

The Chronicles of Vampire Series

The "Vampire Chronicles" series is arguably one of Anne Rice's most popular works. It tells a story about vampires that spans centuries and continents, with complex characters who are both fascinating and tragic.

The first book in this series is "Interview with the Vampire," published in 1976. It introduces us to Louis de Pointe du Lac, a vampire telling his life story from New Orleans in 1791; however, it ultimately revolves around Lestat de Lioncourt after he becomes a vampire himself.

After reading "Interview with the Vampire," continue on with its sequels:

  • The Vampire Lestat (1985)
  • Queen of the Damned (1988)
  • The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)
  • Memnoch the Devil (1995)
  • The Vampire Armand (1998)
  • Merrick (2000)
  • Blood and Gold: or The Story of Marius(2001)

New Tales Of Vampires

Anne has also written stories that take place within her already established universe but center on different vampires outside Louis’ coven.
These include:

  • Pandora
  • Vittorio
    These two standalone titles expand upon certain elements seen throughout previous installments or touch on new perspectives altogether.

Mayfair Witches Series

Another notable work by Anne Rice is "The Lives Of Mayfair Witches" trilogy featuring strong female protagonists dealing with their powers often inherited from their witch families for generations.
This series includes:

- The Witching Hour (1990)
- Lasher (1993)
- Taltos (1994)

Christ the Lord Series

Anne Rice's "Christ the Lord" series is unique compared to her other works, as it delves into biblical fiction. It follows a young Jesus during his childhood and adolescence in Alexandria.

The books in this series are:

  • Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt (2005)
  • Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana(2008)

Other Notable Works

Beyond these significant works, Anne Rice has written many standalone novels worth mentioning.

  • Cry to Heaven(1982) tells a story about castrati opera singers set in 18th century Italy.
  • Servant of the Bones(1996), is a novel that takes place in first-century Jerusalem and New York City post-WWII
    -The Wolf Gift Chronicles features two volumes:
    *The Wolf Gift
    *The Wolves of Midwinter


In conclusion, there are various ways you could approach reading Anne Rice's novels. However, we recommend starting with her most famous work "Interview with The Vampire". After which you can continue on with its sequels before venturing into any others. Remember that this order works best for readers who wish to follow one particular storyline from start to finish; however, each book stands alone as its own entity if preferred.

So gear up your reading glasses because getting lost within Rice’s imaginative worlds awaits!


What is the recommended order to read Anne Rice books?

Anne Rice is a prolific writer who has produced numerous novels that have captured the imagination of readers worldwide. Her works range from gothic horror to historical fiction, and they all share a common thread – a fascination with immortality and its consequences. If you are new to Anne Rice's books, you may be wondering where to start or what order to read them in. Here's our recommended reading order:

  1. "Interview with the Vampire": This is where it all began – an exploration of immortal beings living among us. The novel introduces Lestat de Lioncourt, one of Rice's most famous characters.

  2. "The Vampire Lestat": This book takes us deeper into Lestat's story as he becomes more powerful and influential within vampire society.

  3. "Queen Of The Damned": In this third installment, we learn about Akasha – an ancient queen who awakens from her slumber with plans for world domination.

  4. "The Tale Of The Body Thief": In this fourth book in the series, Lestat struggles with his immortality and contemplates trading it for mortality.

  5. "Memnoch The Devil": Here we get an insight into heaven, hell and everything in between as told through the eyes of Memnoch – Satan himself!

  6. "The Vampire Armand" & 7)"Merrick" : Both these novels delve further into individual characters- Armand being one among many other vampires' stories while Merrick focuses on both witches (a regular theme throughout Anne Rices' works), voodoo priests ,and ghosts alike.

Is there a chronological sequence I should follow when reading Anne Rice’s books?

Yes! While some fans suggest starting chronologically by reading “Pandora” first before “Interview With A Vampire,” It may be easier just following publication date instead since sequels were written after their predecessors. If you’re looking for an even more detailed reading order that follows the timeline, her website offers a great resource.

Are there any books by Anne Rice that are not part of the Vampire Chronicles?

Yes! Anne Rice has written several novels outside of The Vampire Chronicles series. Some notable mentions include “The Witching Hour,” “The Mummy or Ramses The Damned” and "Christ The Lord: Out Of Egypt." Her works delve into historical fiction and supernatural genres.

Can I read Anne Rice’s books as stand-alone novels or must I read them in sequence?

You can read most of her works as standalone novels but it's always best to start with the first book in each series since they often introduce characters and concepts important to later installments.

When it comes to "The Vampire Chronicles," while some plotlines are resolved within individual books, overarching themes continue through out the entire series which makes reading them in order recommended.

It is also worth noting that multiple characters from different stories interact with one another throughout many of her works so having at least some background knowledge on these interacting characters would make your experience all around better.

Is there any benefit to reading Anne Rice’s books beyond entertainment value?

Rice's writing tackles themes such as love, loss, life after death ,and mortality which have relevance today. It is particularly interesting how she explores these topics – chronicling Lestat de Lioncourt for example- over centuries rather than simply within a human lifetime like most authors do.

Her work may also give you insight into history through its fictional depictions; whether it be ancient Egypt (as seen in Ramses The Damned), voodoo culture (Merrick) or life during 18th century New Orleans (Blackwood Farm).

Read More

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here